Jewish Prayers From the Heart and Pen of Alden Solovy

Before My Surgery

800px-Nimitz_class_surgeryThis prayer is to be recited by an individual before surgery. It asks for healing, as well as blessings upon medical professionals and family members. In preparing it for my new book, Jewish Prayers of Hope and Healing, I made two changes. I changed the title to be more specific. The original version posted here was called “For Surgery.” The new title makes the intended use of this prayer clear. I also cut one line from the section asking for G-d to support the entire family. The original asked that the family have strength “regardless of the result.” Although that line is important to me, I wonder if it would provide comfort to most individuals before surgery. The clincher for removing the line is the possibility that someone might want to use this prayer in the presence of family. There are seven prayers to be used before and after surgery in my book.

Before My Surgery
G-d of health and healing,
I surrender myself to the physician’s hand,
The surgeon’s knife,
The nurse’s care,
Placing my body in the cradle of others,
Just as I place my soul in Your loving arms.

Bless my surgeon with a steady hand,
Keen vision
And a passion for healing.

Bless my caregivers with wisdom and skill,
With compassion, focus and dedication.

Bless my family with ease and comfort.
Give them energy and endurance, tranquility and peace.
Remind them to care for themselves and each other,
Even as their hearts and prayers turn to me.

Bless my body with strength,
My spirit with courage,
My thoughts with hope
And my life with renewed purpose.

Source of life,
Bless us with Your guidance,
Make us Your partner in healing
And grant a full and speedy recovery.

© 2013 Alden Solovy and www.tobendlight.com. All rights reserved.

Postscript: Other prayers for healing include: “Upon Recovery from Surgery,” “For a Critically Ill Mother,” “For a Critically Ill Child,” “For a Critically Ill Father” and “For Healing the Spirit.”

For usage guidelines and reprint permissions, see “Share the Prayer!” For notices of new prayers, please subscribe. Connect with To Bend Light on Facebook and on Twitter.

Source: WikiMedia Commons

2 Responses to “Before My Surgery”

  1. sharon george

    your prayers and writing are divinely inspired and soulfully beautiful. Thank you for sharing your G-D given talent with us

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS

