Jewish Prayers From the Heart and Pen of Alden Solovy

Ethics

Got ethics ?This quick meditation takes quite literally the idea of embodying our ethics. It’s written to be a meditation for general use. I’ve also selected it for use during Counting the Omer. To listen along, click on the triangle in the bar below. The text follows.

Ethics
Strong and sure.
Gentle and soft.
The ethics of my hands.

Awake and bright.
Aware and kind.
The ethics of my eyes.

Brave and true.
Solid and steady.
The ethics of my legs.

Open and willing.
Able and ready.
The ethics of my arms.

Present and engaged.
Receiving. Giving.
The ethics of my mind.

Joy and tears.
Comfort and hope.
The ethics of my heart.

© 2012 Alden Solovy and http://www.tobendlight.com. All rights reserved.

Postscript: Here are three yoga meditations that have a similar rhythm to this prayer: “Breath: Yoga Meditation I,” “Strong: Yoga Meditation II” and “Pray and…: Yoga Meditation III.” See also: “For Service” and “On Making a Mistake.”

If you like this prayer, post a link to your Facebook page, your blog or as part of a tweet. And don’t forget to click “like” on this page. Thanks. Please subscribe. For reprint permissions, see Share the Prayer!

Photo Credit: Lindsay Olsen

Leave a comment

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS