Jewish Prayers From the Heart and Pen of Alden Solovy

Offerings

hope-hebrew-t-shirt_designIn this simple set of rhythmic, parallel verses we affirm the connection between G-d’s gifts and our responses. The result is hope for a lasting connectin and a lasting dialogue with G-d. Each line is structured in this way: “When G-d offers _____, I offer my _____.” For example: “When G-d offers silence, I offer my patience.” In communal worship this can be used as a congregational mediation or it can be read responsively, either line-by-line or in couplets. To listen along, click on the triangle in the bar below. The text follows.

Offerings
When G-d offers love, I offer my heart.
When G-d offers wisdom, I offer my mind.
When G-d offers beauty, I offer my senses.
When G-d offers silence, I offer my patience.
When G-d offers challenge, I offer my strength.
When G-d offers trial, I offer my faith.
When G-d offers pain, I offer my dignity.
When G-d offers fear, I offer my courage.
When G-d offers grief, I offer my endurance.
When G-d offers shame, I offer my amends.
When G-d offers death, I offer my mourning.
When G-d offers life, I offer my rejoicing.
When G-d offers joy, I offer my thanksgiving.
When G-d offers awe, I offer my wonder.
When G-d offers righteousness, I offer my blessings.
When G-d offers holiness, I offer my praise.

© 2011 Alden Solovy and http://www.tobendlight.com. All rights reserved.

Postscript: Other prayers about G-d’s gifts include: “This Bounty,” “These Blessings” and “In Plain Sight.” This “Meditation After the Yom Kippur Vidui” is also about offering ourselves in service to G-d.

Please use these prayers. See “Share the Prayer!” in the right hand column. For notices of new prayers posted here, please subscribe. To read four to six mini-prayers each week, as well as notices of new prayers posted to the site, please join the To Bend Light fan page on Facebook.

Photo Credit: The Word in Hebrew

Leave a Reply

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS

