Jewish Prayers From the Heart and Pen of Alden Solovy

Quick Meditation for Today

Most days, I take my time in morning prayer. Once in a while, however, I need a quick prayer in order to get into the day. This mediation is for use when prayer time is brief, like waiting in line at the grocery story, stopped at a red light or when you need to get off to work quickly. To listen along, click on the triangle in the bar below (website only). The text follows.

Quick Meditation for Today
G-d,
Help me through this day.
Guide me toward kindness, gentleness and peace.
Grant me strength and endurance,
Courage and humor,
So that I may do Your will with a full heart,
In joy and in love.
Grant me wholeness, wonder and awe.
Then, G-d of Old,
I will become a source of blessings,
A light of Your word.

Postscript: Other prayers in this series include: “Quick Prayer at a Turning Point,” “Quick Meditation at Noon,” “Your Name: Quick Prayer at Dusk” and “Quick Meditation at Night.”

© 2011 Alden Solovy and http://www.tobendlight.com. All rights reserved.

Please use these prayers. See “Share the Prayer!” in the right hand column. For notices of new prayers posted here, please subscribe. To read four to six mini-prayers each week, as well as notices of new prayers posted to the site, please join the To Bend Light fan page on Facebook.

2 Responses to “Quick Meditation for Today”

  1. Roberta Schweitzer

    I am very happy that I was able to introduce your poems to one of my friends who is a Christian Faith Community Nurse. As I said in an earlier message to you, much of your work can be appreciated by other faith traditions because it speaks to the spiritual, not just the religious.
    Shabbat Shalom

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS

