Jewish Prayers From the Heart and Pen of Alden Solovy

Seeking G-d

seek-godWhere is G-d? Hidden in plain sight. Do we have the endurance to pursue holiness, to look for G-d’s presence? To listen along, click on the triangle in the bar below. The text follows.

Seeking G-d
G-d of my ancestors,
G-d of generations,
G-d beyond my understanding:
Who are You?
What are You?
Where are You?
Why do I struggle to reach You
When my quiet heart already knows You?
My calm thoughts
And open arms
Already know You.
My joy and pain,
Grief and love
Already know You.

Adonai my G-d,
Open me up to You
In celebration and surrender.
Reunite me with what I already know:
Your holiness and Your love.
Let Your word flow through me
So that I see and hear,
Taste, touch and smell
The beauty and blessings around me.
Then, G-d of old,
I will remember to seek You always,
To praise You throughout the days
And to honor You across the years.

Blessed are You, Holy One,
Hidden in plain sight,
Present in simple moments,
Present for eternity.

© 2011 Alden Solovy and http://www.tobendlight.com. All rights reserved.

Postscript: Other prayers about finding G-d include: “To Hear Your Voice,” “To Seek Your Glory,” “To Seek Your Love” and “To Know Your Word.”

If you use this prayer, please click “like” on this page and subscribe. Please take a moment to post a link to your Facebook page, your blog or mention it in a tweet. Thanks. For usage guidelines and reprint permissions, see “Share the Prayer!

Photo Credit: Thirsty Soul

Leave a Reply

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS

