Jewish Prayers From the Heart and Pen of Alden Solovy

After Shiva

Woman-kneeling-under-tree-300x200After shiva, now what? I remember that feeling when my father Jack z”l died and again when my wife Ami z”l died. Her shiva ended with the start of Passover. After the hubbub, that empty silence settled in. I wrote this prayer of loss and healing for my extended family as the shiva for my uncle Jerry z”l. To listen as you read, click on the triangle in the bar below. The text follows. This prayer will appear in my forthcoming book, Jewish Prayers of Hope and Healing.

After Shiva
The days have passed
And a quiet has settled on my home.
My grief still holds me.
My sorrow is present.
Yet You, G-d of seasons,
Ask me to look gently
Toward the future.
You, G-d of creation,
Ask me to imagine a time
When the pain begins to fade,
A time when my hopes are renewed.
You, G-d of generations,
Ask me to honor life,
To cherish memory,
To love those who remain.

Source and Shelter,
Loving Guide of the bereaved,
Lead me on the path toward
Wholeness and healing,
Peace and comfort,
So that I become a well
Of compassion and strength.

G-d of Old,
Your ways are secret,
Sacred and holy.
You are my Rock.
You are my Lamp.

Blessed are You,
G-d of All,
Who redeems the bereaved
With love.

© 2011 Alden Solovy and www.tobendlight.com. All rights reserved.

Postscript: Here are links to two mourner’s prayers: “For Bereaved Children,” which I wrote for my daughters when Ami z”l passed away, and “For the Bereaved.”

For usage guidelines and reprint permissions, see “Share the Prayer!” For notices of new prayers, please subscribe. Connect with To Bend Light on Facebook and on Twitter.

Photo Source: 757 Good Health Blog

7 Responses to “After Shiva”

    • tobendlight

      Thanks Paul. May all of us who grieve find comfort among the mourners of Zion and Israel. Peace and blessings to you. Thanks again for your support. Alden

      Reply
  1. Donna

    Alden,

    I am so sad to learn of your loss. I remember first meeting your uncle Jerry at your wedding in Key West. He was such a kind and gracious man; I know he is missed by his family and friends.
    My prayers are with you.

    Donna

    Reply
    • tobendlight

      Thanks for your gentle words, Donna. Did you know that Jerry z”l was back in Key West when Nikki was born? He had a meeting at the Casa Marina and he came to the hospital to see us. Send my love to the family. Alden

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS

