Jewish Prayers From the Heart and Pen of Alden Solovy

Leaving

Bird and LakeThis is the first of a three-part meditation about the rhythm and flow of life. These meditations are written to be recited in order: “Leaving,” “Arriving” and “Now.” The text follows. Here’s the piece, along with a photo I took of a sunrise over Lake Michigan. This meditation will appear in my forthcoming book, Song of the Spiritual Traveler.  To listen along as you read, click on the triangle in the bar below.

Leaving
I’ve already left
The moment that just was.
I’ve already taken in new sights
New sounds,
The rhythm and motion around me.
The grey dusk.
The morning light.

What is this thing called leaving
That feels so much like a knife
That slices my safety, my solace, my peace?
I am leaving, always leaving,
And the world is always leaving me
In the next gust of wind,
The next quiet night.

Oh to live in this breath,
This joyous expanse of air and light.
This here.
This now.
This wonder and amazement,
This luminous pulse of being.
Let the world sigh,
Let the earth turn,
Let the currents flow,
So that the space for tomorrow
Opens with awe and surrender.

© 2010 Alden Solovy and http://www.tobendlight.com. All rights reserved.

If you use this prayer, please click “like” on this page and subscribe. Please take a moment to post a link to your Facebook page, your blog or mention it in a tweet. Thanks. For usage guidelines and reprint permissions, see “Share the Prayer!

Photo Source: Alden Solovy

2 Responses to “Leaving”

  1. Ellie

    Alden, This is lovely. I really like the concept of stringing together these 3 places of being. I read the series in backwards order, from now to leaving, and I found “leaving” to be most touching and real. Thanks for this meditation.

    Reply
    • tobendlight

      Thanks, Ellie. My spirit and emotions are, indeed, more closely reflected in “Leaving,” although, after writing it, the sentiments it captures didn’t feel complete. “

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS

