Jewish Prayers From the Heart and Pen of Alden Solovy

Giving Thanks

This prayer is a reminder to live with a heart of gratitude and love. Please listen along as you read. (Click on the triangle in the bar below. The text follows.) And here’s a link to more Thanksgiving Prayers.

Giving Thanks
To whom shall I give this grateful heart,
This joy that shines through the center of my being?
To you my friends,
Who hold me, support me and carry me along the way.
To you my G-d,
Source of strength and hope.

To whom shall I give these praising lips,
This gladness that echoes from the depths of my voice?
To you my friends,
Who teach me, guide me and honor me along the way.
To you my G-d,
Source of wisdom and truth.

To whom shall I give these powerful hands,
This energy that infuses my bone and sinew?
To you my friends.
Together we will build this world into a temple of justice and peace.
To you my G-d.
Together we will bring the light of holiness and love.

Blessed are the moments of celebration.
Blessed are the moments of service.
Blessed are You, G-d of All Being,
Source of my life,
Creator of joy and gratitude.

© 2010 Alden Solovy and http://www.tobendlight.com. All rights reserved.

Postscript: Other prayers of thanksgiving include “A Moment of Blessing,” “Dance Hallelujah,” “Life as a Banquet” and “An Amazing Life.”

Please use these prayers. See “Share the Prayer!” in the right hand column.

For notices of new prayers posted here, please subscribe. To read four to six mini-prayers each week, as well as notices of new prayers posted to the site, please join the To Bend Light fan page on Facebook.

5 Responses to “Giving Thanks”

  1. Donna

    Wishes for a Happy Thanksgiving from our family to you and the girls. Please tell N & D we love them and look forward to a time when we can be together for a visit. love ~ Aunt Donna, Uncle Jesse, Jesse and Halsey.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS

