Jewish Prayers From the Heart and Pen of Alden Solovy

Egypt Inside

wollfhaggadahLeaving Egypt is the quintessential Jewish metaphor for the road to freedom. Leaving is only the beginning of that road. Leaving Egypt behind, leaving slavery behind, is much more difficult. To listen along while you read, please click on the triangle in the bar below. The text follows. This is from my series about internalizing G-d’s gifts, including “Forgiveness Inside.” Each of them begin with this line: “This I confess to myself…”

Egypt Inside
This I confess to myself:
I have taken Egypt with me.
I’ve kept myself a slave to grief and loss,
Fear and anger and shame.
I have set myself up as task master,
Driving my own work beyond the limits
Of reasonable time and common sense.
I’ve seen miracles from heaven,
Signs and wonders in my own life,
And still wait for the heavens to speak.

G-d of redemption,
With Your loving and guiding hand leaving Egypt is easy.
Leaving Egypt behind is a struggle.
In Your wisdom You have given me this choice:
To live in a tyranny of my own making,
Or to set my heart free to love You,
To love Your people,
And to love myself.

G-d of Freedom, help me to leave Egypt behind,
To hear Your voice,
To accept Your guidance,
And to see the miracles in each new day.

Blessed are You, G-d of wonder,
You set Your people on the road to redemption.

© 2010 Alden Solovy and www.tobendlight.com. All rights reserved.

Postscript: Here are links to two more Passover meditations “The Season of Freedom” and “Breaking Bonds.” Click here for a full annotated list of meditations and readings for Pesach. Special thanks to Rabbi Peter Knobel who suggested – among many wonderful ideas for my writing and this site – that I think of holidays as opportunities to write new prayers.

For usage guidelines and reprint permissions, see “Share the Prayer!” For notices of new prayers, please subscribe. Connect with To Bend Light on Facebook and on Twitter.

Photo Credit: The National Library of Israel

3 Responses to “Egypt Inside”

  1. Mali Schantz-Feld

    This is a beautiful and heartfelt connection between past, present and future. Relevant to Passover, but also very personal and timeless. Leaving Egypt, but carrying all of its tribulations with us to our next destination is a universal struggle. Great job; definitely not just a first draft to me.

    Reply
  2. Michele

    Thanks so much. this is perfect for my family at this time. We will be using it soon. Shalom.

    Reply
    • tobendlight

      I’m glad that you find meaning in this prayer. I invite you to keep visiting the site and to keep sharing your impressions. Alden

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS

